Goodbye blogger!

As I was creating bookmarks for Safari*, I remembered one of them had to be Brad Setser’s Follow the Money blog.  Though I don’t follow it as frequently as I do WSJ, FT, or Ritholtz’s blog, I still consider it a relevant source of information particularly on the Chinese economy.  When I visited his blog just now, what welcomed me was a post titled “All great things have to end”.  I initially thought it was on the market rally, but I was wrong.  Instead this is what I read:

This will be my last blog post, at least for the foreseeable future.
I have accepted a new job, one that will require a certain level of discretion. I am excited by its challenges: ‘Balanced and sustainable” growth is something that I believe in. But suspending this blog is still hard.
I started blogging almost five years ago, back when blogging felt new and the barriers to entry were much lower. I was also lucky: first Nouriel Roubini and RGE and then the CFR were willing to pay me to, at least in part, write a niche blog on global imbalances and global capital flows. The CFR in general – and Richard Haass and Sebastian Mallaby in particular – took a risk (a calculated risk?) that I could maintain a blog with open comments that could live up to the standards of the Council on Foreign Relations.

This will be my last blog post, at least for the foreseeable future.

I have accepted a new job, one that will require a certain level of discretion. I am excited by its challenges: ‘Balanced and sustainable” growth is something that I believe in. But suspending this blog is still hard.

I started blogging almost five years ago, back when blogging felt new and the barriers to entry were much lower. I was also lucky: first Nouriel Roubini and RGE and then the CFR were willing to pay me to, at least in part, write a niche blog on global imbalances and global capital flows. The CFR in general – and Richard Haass and Sebastian Mallaby in particular – took a risk (a calculated risk?) that I could maintain a blog with open comments that could live up to the standards of the Council on Foreign Relations.

The rest of his farewell post here. I was a few days late as the post was written on the 4th. It’s still a sad event nonetheless.

*Mozilla Firefox, my former browser, decided to act up and hang every time I loaded the page giving me the need to switch browsers.

Leave a Reply

